National General Insurance Reviews

Show reviews that mention
insurance national general car customer service claim service customer accident policy money
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

This is a true story with witnesses a policy and more to prove it in court. There are alot of reviiews that coould be class action. 16 of you expressed their interest anyone else call Rob 714605****

Explore video interviews
National General Insurance - This is a true story with witnesses a policy and more to prove it in court. There are alot of reviiews that coould be class action. 16 of you expressed their interest anyone else call Rob 714605****
National General Insurance - This is a true story with witnesses a policy and more to prove it in court. There are alot of reviiews that coould be class action. 16 of you expressed their interest anyone else call Rob 714605****
National General Insurance - This is a true story with witnesses a policy and more to prove it in court. There are alot of reviiews that coould be class action. 16 of you expressed their interest anyone else call Rob 714605****
National General Insurance - This is a true story with witnesses a policy and more to prove it in court. There are alot of reviiews that coould be class action. 16 of you expressed their interest anyone else call Rob 714605****
March 18, 2020 Dear Sir, I write to you to request reimbursement of property damage to my vehicle which was rendered a complete total loss in a recent accident pursuant to the Collision Coverage that I purchased. In December, I was shopping for Auto insurance. Because my 2017White Mercedes-Benz C300 was financed through Chase, and it was required to be insured for collision. On 12-02-2019 at around 4pm, I received a call at home from a guy named Brian Toyota. He claimed to be an agent for Freeway Insurance. He ran his lowest rates speech, and then we went through my DMV history. At the end of it he gave me what sounded like a reasonable quote after I had answered all his questions. One of those questions was, Is the vehicle financed or Leased or is it owned? I told him it was financed through Chase Auto Financing. I told him I wanted no rental car and no uninsured motorist. But I did want collision. I had to have collision. Mr. Toyota broke it down to payments. Never mentioning anything about a Broker fee or that it would be reoccurring each month. I told him I wanted to try to get a few more quotes and discuss it with my Mother and I would call him back within 24 hours to decide and finalize if I chose him. I was led to believe he was the insurance itself. He proceeded to tell me that the insurance laws were changing on the 5th of December and if I did not get signed up and a deposit paid to retain today with him, that the insurance company that he gave me the quote from would not be good and that it would be at least doubled from what it was if not tripled. He also said there was a 75% chance he would not be able to even get me insured after they change the laws and rules. I told him I wanted him to explain this to my Mother as I suffer from Bipolar Disorder, ADHD, and PTSD, and I am officially disabled by the state of California. She could probably understand the importance of that statement more than I would. So I put him onspeakerphone, andd he proceeded to tell her all about the insurance rules and laws changing on the 5th of December 2019, in just a few days and how I probably would not be able to get insured with not just this company but any other ones as well. He basically scared us into thinking either sign up today or forever be uninsured. So I put a deposit down by credit card and started the policy. Brian Toyota did a lot of really fast talking and led me to believe that I was covered with what I needed at a fair price. Little did I know that I was not covered with what I had to have and the price was actually going up almost 200% as soon as I got off the phone. Later that night he emailed all the documents to me. As I looked through them and checked off things and initialed others, I noticed that there was no comprehensive and collision on my own car, a 2017Mercedes-Benzz C300, financed by Chase but initialized by my 10,000 in cash down and 4,000 in parts and of course Dog transportation accessories and safety equipment. OnTuesday,y December 3rd, 2019 I made my first call to the phone number Brian Toyota gave me to contact him at. There was no answer and I left a message that there was something wrong with the policy that he wrote and sent me the evening before and that he should contact me immediately. I called him 7 times over the next 24 hours with no success and no calls back. On December 4th which was my Birthday I was reading the paperwork that I was sent and noticed also that there were extra fees added into the insurance policy that I was not made aware of at the time he was going over numbers with me, so I called the other number he provided me to another department. I explained that I was missing the coverage I was told I was getting and that I needed to get it corrected. I asked if they could look to see if he charged me for the comp and collision. They told me that they did not have access to the file but that Mr. Toyota would get back to me as soon as he came back into the office, which would be the followingTTuesday,y December 10th, 2019. I asked if there was any way I could just come down to one of their offices and get it corrected and if any more money was needed I could just pay it right there and have it corrected. And did I even need to payanymoree because I still did not get an answer as to if he charged me for the rest of the coverage. I got switched around from one person to the next and spent most of my birthday on the phone trying to get it straightened out. But no one would tell me where exactly Brian Toyota worked. Some said Norwalk, Some said LA or Downey, and some said that he did not work out of an office as he was called a, GHOST AGENT. He was a, Satellite. I even got told that he worked out of whatever office he wanted to on any given week. But mostly worked from home. One thing was for sureEveryone I talked to seem to know Brian Toyota, and I was beginning to think that might not be a good thing. Not only was I on the phone every day from the 3rd until the 13th. But my Mother and my friend both were making calls to all the numbers that they had transferred me to in the last few days. On one of those days there were 3 of us on our individual phones from 9:30 am until 1:30pm. We all got the same blow off and told that Brian Toyota was AWOL from work and that several people were calling and looking for him (see footnotes). 31 phone calls documented with names and numbersALL BEFORE DECEMBER 13th. . THE ACCIDENT occurred on Friday the 13th of December. I was on my way to drop the car off at the body shop when it happened. I had made over 31 calls to my supposed insurance Broker and had tried to take money to whomever they wanted it to go to. I had alerted them to the mistake in the policy and requested that Comp and Collision coverage begin immediately, that was on the 3rd and every day after that up until the 13th at 1pm. I think and I know full well that I did my due diligence in attempting to get someone at Freeway Insurance to correct the mistake and get the car covered. IT is solely on FREEWAY INSURANCE BROKERS AND THEIR EMPLOYEES, with what has happened due to their failure to help a custom That is exactly what NEGLIGENCE AND BAD FAITH IS.. (KEEP IN MIND HE CHARGED ME FOR A COMPLETE FULL term of months OF COMP AND COLLISION AS IT INCLUDED THE MONTH OF DECEMBER, THATs ADMISSION NUMBER #3!!I) I then left and called my Claims Adjuster and let him and Elinay Moulais know that it was now backdated correctly. My Claims Rep Oswaldo Lopez, sent an email to Freeway Insurance Brokers, to confirm the paperwork. Meanwhile, on January 8th, 2020 I received the final copy of the policy from the underwriters and it confirmed and reflected that I was backdated and I was covered on my car. My Attorney reviewed the paperwork and the policys and has confirmed that I was covered. Furthermore, I was entitled to change and add to my policy when necessary in a reasonable amount of time which I was not afforded. Also Freeway Insurance Employees circumvented me. Blatantly and with total disregard for the safety and the integrity of Chase Auto Loans. Any one of them could have changed or added to my policy and taken my money. Because it was financed they were required to in a reasonable amount of time such as 48 hours NOT 17 or 20 DAYS. I made every effort to correct YOUR mistake. My Mother and my friend made independent efforts to do the same. (See complaint you closed on 2-12-20 without ever really looking into it). They spent hours on the phone having to argue with 15 to 20 of your companys employees over something you should have jumped to correct. So for you to even attempt to deny ANY OF WHAT IS CONTAINED IN THIS LETTER INSURANCE COMMISSION COMPLAINT ..And ..EMINENT LAWSUITis laughable. You have over 60 reviews from your past victims, which made the mistake of having anything to do with you and each and every one of them wants in on a class action suit against both Freeway Insurance Brokers and National General. Amongst other violations and ethics National General committed Felonys by deliberately not recording witness statements and then having the audacity to claim that witnesses said or did not actually say. You falsified at least one witness statements. You both have acted in Bad Faith on many levels. There has been Breach of Contract, and Freeway has been double billing me. And then there is the $430 money order that was delivered to the Winston Salem Address and never returned to me. The other driver was at fault for this accident. She made 2 or 3 illegal lane changes and was driving in a reckless and unsafe manner. She forced me over and into the curb and left me NO WAY OUT OTHER THEN THE WAY I WENT. Then she shortstopped without any warning or signal. I am taking NO liability for this accident. It was December 13th 2019. Its now March 16th 2020 and you people have not been investigating shit. You are stalling. I want my car either fixed or as it has been declared a total loss, a check cut for the total loss so Chase is off my back. I want a supplemental check in the amount of $5000 for the stress, hassle, and expenses you people have caused me. And I want a complete and total refund of my money paid to both of your companies. You have 15 days to comply. And if the Insurance Commission is smart, they will shut you down not just based on what you have done to me, but to at least 60 others. April 3rd, 2020 is your deadline. You either cover me under my policy which is valid. Or you admit her fault and cover it. As you know, if a person is covered by Collision, it makes no difference who was at fault in the accident. Well, I am not at fault. BUT, in addition to that I have in my possession two documents from National General clearly stating and validated as such from my Attorney, that I had Collision Coverage at the time of the accident. If you refuse to cover the property damage loss under Collision Coverage, then I will sue you for BAD FAITH. As you know. In a BAD FAITH CASE. PUNITIVE damages are available. I suggest that you do the right thing, honor your contract, and pay for my damages within 14 days. Otherwise, if you do not, I will have my attorney nail you for BREACH OF CONTRACT AND BAD FAITH. I will also report everyone involved here to the State Department Insurance Commission. I would appreciate it if you decide by April 3rd. Thank you for your time and consideration with this matter. Respectfully Submitted, Robert Snyder

User's recommendation: Do not go anywhere near them or.

View full review
1 comment
#1882058

That's what happens when you purchase CHEAP substandard or nonstandard insurance. You buy a 2017 Mercedes Benz and then cheap out on auto insurance?

Comprehensive and collision is called full coverage. It includes uninsured motorist. When you said you didn't want coverage for that he had to back it down to liability insurance. That was your mistake by telling the broker you didn't want it.

It's NEVER a wise decision to not be covered for uninsured motorist. It's also not wise to buy insurance from a total stranger that calls you unsolicited. There are too many holes in your story to make it believable that you are the victim. The car had to be insured prior to this fiasco you got yourself into.

Did you let that policy lapse? Was it cancelled for some reason? There has to be something that has made you uninsurable for you to grab at information from a stranger on the phone without verifying what you are being told. DUI?

Too many prior accidents? Speeding tickets? As for the accident... the police had to make a report and include whom was at fault for it.

Just you saying you're not at fault doesn't work. Take this as a hard learned lesson if and when you have another car with DECENT insurance from a reliable insurance company.

Featured
ID
#1836450 Review #1836450 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
National General Insurance Auto Insurance
Pros
  • There are no pros
  • Masters of deception
  • If you want to be lied to
Cons
  • Over 60 people ripped off by them and you people do nothing
  • Bad customer service claims department
  • Bad track record of helping their clients with claims
Loss
$27000
Preferred solution
Either honor my claim and Give me some kind of check for my totalled car so I can atleast get my GAP ins to cover the loan.OR COVER IT UNDER THE OTHER DRIVERS POLICY WITH YOU SINCE SHE IS AT FAULT

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
You get a good quote, but when you put a claim in you will be sorry if you get National General Insurance. Not only sorry but disgusted by the way they treat you. My claims contact person, Mariann Paredes was/is the nastiest unhelpful person, I was disgusted by the way...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2950959 Review #2950959 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
National General Insurance Claim
Pros
  • Sounds good
  • There are no pros
Cons
  • Bad customer service and the adjuster needs to be fired
  • Super poor customer service
  • Claims resolution
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
An apology and the monies to at least cover a new roof $7,000.00
New Reviewer
I am writing in regards to claim 21035**** which was filed on August 3, 2021 to repair my 2014 Keystone Cougar 5th wheel camp trailer, which had body damage. I am extremely frustrated and infuriated with their handling of my claim. It took over 3 weeks for National...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2939138 Review #2939138 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Nye, Montana
New Reviewer

Worthless insurance company, POOR customer service

On June 26, 2021, We Had blowout on inside rear dual tire, resulting in damage to our motorhome. The so called senior claims adjuster Jamie Ortega ( who sucks at her job) contacted us after finally getting RV into repair shop. It took almost a month and half for them to make a 1/3 the amount the repair shop submitted.

User's recommendation: RUN AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2865130 Review #2865130 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
full reimbursement for tow as told, waive the $50.00 cancellation fee for cancelling policy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They denied my car insurance claim and refuse to fix my car.

National General Insurance - They denied my car insurance claim and refuse to fix my car.
National General Insurance - They denied my car insurance claim and refuse to fix my car.
My car was taken without permission during the night by my on again off again boyfriend. I filed a police report ,he wrecked my car and got tickets for DUI and DWLR. I filed a police report for stealing my car. At the time of the accident 3;20 am ish I was asleep and didn't know my car was gone. While I was filing the claim I said he lived here because he stays here a lot but technically lives with his brother in Supply,NC . I live in Wilmington NC. There about 40 minutes apart. The insurance adjuster Mattew Gorry went back and forth then denied my claim and won't fix my car

User's recommendation: Don't speak to adjuster without attorney ever.

View full review
ID
#2798670 Review #2798670 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
Pros
  • Last time i had great service
Cons
  • Bad track record of helping their clients with claims
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Assault ripped off from locals in the aera of cuy.falls ohio .hit from a local city car.. city recently busted.2021

we asked forq replacement truck $15,000.000 plus $10,000.00 stolen tool chest.along with the illegal sub-contractor compliaints filed. busted cuy.fall on 4/08/2021 for assault and robbery.destruction of property and a few more things that was done for and easy win. they got busted 4/08/2021. thats what.national gen. is well todo.
View full review
ID
#2779781 Review #2779781 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$99
Preferred solution
i want litigation to get as much as they can from a bunch of ripoffs at the local city. for robbery. one who struck mike in his truck is the one who has been ripping him off.materials damages start at $150,000.00 a.p.r 25% complaint filed.
New Reviewer

To talk costmer service

My vehicle has been in the shop almost a month and it ready but they can't get in touch with anyone to finish this claimn

User's recommendation: Never use this company.

View full review
ID
#2763382 Review #2763382 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Reimbursement for my car being In shop for almost a month and only having a rental for 4 days

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Filed claim, took over a month to have anything happen, still fighting with Adjuster ( who sucks at her job) now telling us where to have repairs done, in oregon we can take to any shop we wish. Now she's refusing to cover tow, because she feels it was to far. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND, FIND ANYONE ELSE

User's recommendation: RUN AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2744121 Review #2744121 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Portland, Oregon
New Reviewer

Better business complaint filed on the crime/clients was assaulted.

property owner sent a complaint information leading to the assault at his property and the hit skips cuy.falls has done to his truck and stolen his property as well. since then information leading to the individuals is overwhelming to fist of information against the city of cuy.falls falsifys. reports to rip off truck owner and money outhis truck,bending up frame doors windows chipped,steering motor parts stolen off truck $50000****chest.classictu turned into a damaged pclaim.

User's recommendation: city got busted 4/08/2021 destruction of property assault.place a $50,000.00 to insurance .against the scamin cop to steal private property. hit owner.

View full review
ID
#2734365 Review #2734365 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Horrible experience

THEY WILL NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CASE. THEY DONT FOLLOW UP. ESPECIALLY ADJUSTER CASSIDY TREXLER. SHE SHOULDNT EVEN HAVE A JOB. STILL DONT HAVE MY CAR AFTER 6 WEEKS- JUST PASSENGER SIDE DAMAGE. THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. I'M AFARAID I MIGHT NOT GET MY CAR BACK. NNEVER
View full review
ID
#2669724 Review #2669724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hawthorne, California

Customer service

As a new customer I needed to clarify some details. Left many messages for several people in the company to call me back over six days. Nobody ever returned my calls. Lousy customer service.

User's recommendation: Don't bother trying to leave a call back message.

View full review
ID
#2648668 Review #2648668 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sun City Center, Florida
New Reviewer

Horrible

My son was in a accident, the lady pulled it in front of him. The police report showed no damage to either, but the lady was able to make a 10,000 claim and got paid for it. I called this company several times before the claim was paid out, and they would not give any information. Lastly, after the pictures of the accident was turned in, she refused to answer phone calls. Again I repeated called the agent in which she acts as though she did not want, to give me information about the case or claim. I would not ever want anything from National NaNati

User's recommendation: Run from this company.

View full review
ID
#2635973 Review #2635973 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Madison, Mississippi
Pros
  • Overcharged higher rate unknowingly
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Clear my son driving record

Had an accident on Thursday 27 May. Car was disabled and up to now, it has been impossible 5 day later to get a simple response from National General Ins Co.

There's no good excuse for this kind of poor customer service. I have absolutely no confidence the complaining will serve as a motivation to do better.

User's recommendation: Just give people better service.

View full review
ID
#2581473 Review #2581473 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

No company should be so inefficient.

I had an accident on Thursday morning which was ticketed to the opposing driver National General was reported to be the insurance carrier for the offending driver I contacted National General and went through the worst customer experience. At this point I am without a car and instead of being given assistance, I was harshly spoken and told that this is a holiday weekend and I would have to wait till Tuesday. Geico would never do this to their customers. These are just unprofessional nasty folks. CFecil Richardson

User's recommendation: RUN!! as far away from National General as yo can.

View full review
ID
#2577349 Review #2577349 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Response from claim that is over 4 months old

I submitted a claim for auto damage from a driver with National general auto insurance and I have yet to receive a response.

User's recommendation: do not use this company.

View full review
ID
#2521540 Review #2521540 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Bad customer relations
  • Claims resolution
  • Bad customer service and the adjuster needs to be fired
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

I RECEIVED AN INCREASE ON MY MONTHLY PAYMENT, AND I KNOW IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ME.

MY DUE WAS CHANGED AND I WAS TOLD IT WOULD INCREASE MY PAYMENTS AND I TOLD THE AGENT TO KEEP MY PAYMENTS WHAT THEY ARE ANY WHITHOUT KNOWING THE CHANGE HAD BEEN MADE IS NOW ASKED TO PAY MORE MONTHLY. I CAN PAY WHAT I WAS ASKED TO PAY IN THE BEGINING AND AS LONG I HAVE BEEN WITH DIRECT I DONT WANT TO CHANGE BUT I CANT PAY WHAT IS ASK ON A SS CHECK. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!
View full review
ID
#2490179 Review #2490179 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
National General Insurance Auto Insurance
Pros
  • Only 1 rep was helpful and tried
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article